NYFCC Announces Their Winners, The Artist Takes Top Prize And Cave Of Forgotten Dreams Finally Gets Some Love

Well, well, well. It’s about that time of the year now, no matter how uninterested one may or may not be in it.   It’s awards season people, and this year it’s the New York Film Critics Circle’s turn to kick start the awards machine.

The group ridiculously took to Twitter on Tuesday to announce their winners one by one, in what is easily the most cartoonish bit of self righteous pretention that one can really imagine, but they also revealed some interesting choices.

Obviously, the biggest move was having The Artist and its director, Michel Hazanavicius take the top prizes for Film and Director.   Brad Pitt and Meryl Streep took the top acting prizes for Moneyball/The Tree Of Life and The Iron Lady respectively, with both Albert Brooks and Jessica Chastain taking the top supporting prizes. Herzog’s Cave Of Forgotten Dreams took Best Non-Fiction Film, and the Asghar Farhadi film, A Separation, took Best Foreign Language Film.

Personally, the awards are interesting if only for the fact that they seem to hint at what could be a rather boring and slow moving awards season.   The Artist is playing like gangbusters around the film world, and unless something drastic happens, things may not change.   Pitt and Streep are safe, but likely solid (I say likely as I haven’t seen The Iron Lady) choices here, and Brooks is an inspired pick for his respective award.

Overall, this is going to be dragged out for some time, so at this point, things could go any way possible.

What do you think?

Best Film: “The Artist”
Best Director:  Michel Hazanavicius, “The Artist”
Best Actor: Brad Pitt, “Moneyball” and “The Tree Of Life”
Best Actress: Meryl Streep, “The Iron Lady”
Best Supporting Actor: Albert Brooks, “Drive”
Best Supporting Actress: Jessica Chastain, “Take Shelter” and “The Tree of Life”
Best Screenplay: Steve Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin, “Moneyball”
Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, “The Tree Of Life”
Best Foreign Language Film: “A Separation” directed by Asghar Farhadi
Best Non-Fiction Film: “Cave of Forgotten Dreams” directed by Werner Herzog
Best First Film: “Margin Call” directed by J.C. Chandor

Special Award  will be given posthumously to filmmaker  Raoul Ruiz.

Source Twitter

More from Joshua Brunsting

Joshua Reviews Kino’s Nothing Sacred And A Farewell To Arms [Blu-ray Review]

Joshua reviews two iconic classics newly released on Blu-ray via Kino.
Read More

Leave a Reply