PGA Award Winners Revealed As Oscar Picture Comes Into Focus, Or Is It Even More Foggy?


And things have officially become interesting.

After pulling as many awards into its camp as possible, even the Golden Globe win for Best Drama and best Director, Argo has nabbed what may very well be the biggest award to date. The film has taken the award for Best Picture from the Producer’s Guild, and as one of the big predictors for the Academy Awards, this just made the Oscar race all the more interesting.

Seemingly looking like the film to beat, Lincoln has yet to really grab any of these pre-cursor awards, so where does that leave Oscar’s Best Picture race? Silver Linings Playbook is strong with a bevy of acting awards, Life Of Pi has a cavalcade of nominations across the board and while Argo lacks the Best Director nomination, it appears as though that may not matter.

The season has been as entertaining as they come, and thankfully, it comes after just about a decade of clear-cut, boring and uninteresting races with clear cut winners from day one. Here is the full list of PGA winners:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures

Argo (Warner Bros.)

Producers: Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Grant Heslov

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures

Wreck-It Ralph (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures)

Producer: Clark Spencer

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures

Searching For Sugar Man (Sony Pictures Classics)

Producers: Malik Bendjelloul, Simon Chinn

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama

Homeland (Showtime)

Producers: Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Michael Cuesta, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Michael Klick, Meredith Stiehm

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television

Game Change (HBO)

Producers: Gary Goetzman, Tom Hanks, Jay Roach, Amy Sayres, Steven Shareshian, Danny Strong

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy

Modern Family (ABC)

Producers: Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television:

American Masters (PBS)

Producers: Prudence Glass, Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Competition Television

The Amazing Race (CBS)

Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)

Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart

The Award for Outstanding Sports Program

Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (HBO)

The Award for Outstanding Children’s Program

Sesame Street (PBS)

The Weight of the Nation for Kids: The Great Cafeteria Takeover” (HBO)

The Award for Outstanding Digital Series

30 Rock: The Webisodes” (

Source PGA

More from Joshua Brunsting

Armchair Vacation: Five Films To Watch At Home This Weekend (August 7-9)

Here are the five films you need to be watching this weekend.
Read More