BAMcinématek to Hold Month-Long Chris Marker Retrospective

chrismarkerframed

From August 15-21 the BAMcinématek will hold a retrospective of the work of late French mind-bending multimedia auteur Chris Marker, anchored by a new DCP restoration and North American theatrical premiere of his 1996 film Level Five (which just happens to feature a nice little cameo by Japanese director Nagisa Oshima).

The retro will include his greatest hits like La Jetée, Sans Soleil, and Le Joli Mai, but will also feature lesser-screened works like his three hour film collage A Grin Without a Cat and his portrait of director Andrei Tarkovsky, One Day in the Life of Andrei Aresenevich.

This will be a much-deserved retrospective of an oftentimes elusive director. As far as I know most of these films are difficult to find or hard to come by on home video, so if you’re in or around Brooklyn it’ll be quite a treat to see some of these on the big screen.

A full lineup is below:

Fri, Aug 15


2, 4:30, 7, 9:30pm: Level Five

Sat, Aug 16


2, 7pm: Far From Vietnam

4:30, 9:30pm: Level Five

Sun, Aug 17


4:30pm: Le Joli Mai 

2, 8pm: Level Five

Mon, Aug 18


4:30, 9pm: Level Five

7pm: A Letter From Siberia, Sunday in Peking

Tue, Aug 19


4:30, 9pm: Level Five

7pm: The Battle of the Ten Million

Wed, Aug 20


4:30, 9pm: Level Five 

7pm: Be Seeing You, Class of Struggle, 2084

Thu, Aug 21


4:30, 7, 9:30pm: Level Five

Fri, Aug 22


5, 6:30, 8, 9:30pm: La Jetée, Statues Also Die

Sat, Aug 23


2, 4:30, 7, 9:30pm: Sans Soleil

Sun, Aug 24


2, 8:30pm: The Last Bolshevik


4:30pm: A Grin Without a Cat

Mon, Aug 25


7:30pm: Description of a Struggle, Valparaíso

9:15pm: One Day in the Life of Andrei Aresenevich, The Train Rolls On

Tue, Aug 26


7:30, 9:15pm: Prime Time in the Camps, The Sixth Side of the Pentagon, The Embassy

Wed, Aug 27


7:30pm: Bestiary, Les homes de la baleen, Three Cheers for the Whale


9pm: The Koumiko Mystery, Matta

Thu, Aug 28


7, 9:15pm: Remembrance of Things to Come, If I Had Four Dromedaries

Check back at the BAMcinématek website here for further information.

More from Sean Hutchinson

New York Film Festival Announces Main Slate

The 35 highly anticipated feature films are the biggest main slate the...
Read More

Leave a Reply