Rob Reiner to Receive Film Society’s Chaplin Award


The Film Society of Lincoln Center announced that actor and This is Spinal Tap director Rob Reiner will be this year’s recipient of their annual Chaplin Award. On April 28th he’ll be awarded at a star-studded gala attended by notable guests who will honor the director, producer, actor, and political activist with movie and interview clips spanning his entire career.

Ann Tenenbaum, The Film Society of Lincoln Center’s Board Chairman said of Reiner, “He has brought some of the most enduring and entertaining films of recent history to the screen, from iconic cult-classic comedies to powerful dramas that together illustrate an amazing range and body of work. As a director, writer, actor, and producer, we welcome him to the list of other master multi-hyphenates who have been prior recipients of the Chaplin Award Tribute.”

Perhaps most well known for movies like The Princess Bride, Reiner’s most recent directorial effort was the 2012 drama The Magic of Belle Isle, but he can more recently be seen in Martin Scorsese’s The Wolf of Wall Street.

The Annual Award Gala began in 1972 when the Little Tramp himself, Charlie Chaplin, returned from exile to the U.S. to receive the award which has since been renamed in his honor. Previous recipients include a who’s who of Criterion-related names such as Alfred Hitchcock, Billy Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Federico Fellini, Elizabeth Taylor, Bette Davis, James Stewart, Robert Altman, Martin Scorsese, Diane Keaton, Meryl Streep, Tom Hanks, Michael Douglas, Sidney Poitier, Catherine Deneuve, Barbra Streisand.

Click here for more info.

Sean Hutchinson

Sean lives in the wilds of Brooklyn, NY. He's got a couple fancy schmancy academic degrees in English literature, he's a huge movie fan, and has way too many opinions about both. Follow Sean on Twitter.

Just Announced from Criterion

This Month from Criterion

Last Month from Criterion






Home Video Resources

Criterion UK

Grasshopper Films

Second Run UK